Broward County DUI
Broward County is located in southeastern Florida. It has an area of 1323 square miles. Expressways include I-75, I-95, I-595, SR 91, SR 821, and SR 869. If you are charged with a DUI in Broward County, you should be aware that prosecutors will take the charge seriously. A DUI can be charged even if you weren't actually traveling while under the influence. Simply having control of a vehicle is enough. Consult The Hoffman Firm to speak with an experienced Broward County DUI attorney. Our principal Evan A. Hoffman is a former prosecutor who amassed more than 100 jury trials and more than 120 nonjury trials before becoming a skillful criminal defense lawyer. He may be able to represent you.When Can You be Charged With a DUI?
A prosecutor can charge you with a DUI based on: (1) slight impairment of your faculties due to alcohol, drugs, or both or (2) driving with a blood alcohol content of .08 or higher. Like other crimes, a DUI must be proven beyond a reasonable doubt. If you're lawfully arrested for a DUI, you are bound by implied consent laws in Florida. These laws state that as a driver, you've implicitly consented to chemical testing.Penalties for DUI
If you are charged with a first offense DUI, you may face jail time, plus a fine of up to $1000, suspension of your license, installation of an ignition interlock device, impoundment of your car, and mandatory community service of 50 hours. Generally, when there was no minor in the car and your blood alcohol content is below .15%, you are likely to receive less than 6 months in jail. Sometimes for a first offense, however, it is possible to persuade the court to sentence you to an alcoholism treatment program or drug abuse program, and a seasoned DUI attorney in Broward County can help you pursue such an outcome. On the other hand, if you were caught with a minor in the car or with a BAC of .15% or more, you may be sentenced to 9 months imprisonment and a fine of up to $2000. When someone suffers a serious bodily injury due to your DUI, you may be charged with a third degree felony.
Second offense DUIs are usually charged as misdemeanors as well, except in instances where someone was seriously harmed. The penalties get steeper the more DUI convictions there have been over a 5- or 10-year period. Those charged with a third offense in a 10-year period may face third degree felony charges. The sentence for a third degree felony is up to 5 years in prison and fines of up to $5000.
A fourth DUI conviction can result in you being classified as a habitual or violent felony offender. This classification is crucial and damaging because it can result in extended imprisonment for other future crimes.Defenses to DUI Charges
There may be defenses available to a DUI charge, and you should not assume you'll be convicted. Even so, it is wise to retain a knowledgeable Broward County DUI attorney who can develop a defense strategy tailored to your case. Sometimes there are procedural or constitutional violations that can give rise to a motion to suppress the government's evidence. For example, if the police pulled you over merely on a hunch and didn't have a reasonable suspicion that can be articulated for why they stopped you, it may be possible to get any evidence secured during the detention suppressed. In other cases, it may be appropriate to challenge chemical test results or field sobriety test results.Consult an Experienced Broward County Lawyer After a DUI Arrest
Some people mistakenly believe that a DUI charge is simply an administrative charge. A DUI is a criminal charge, and it can have serious consequences depending on the circumstances. If you've been charged with a DUI in Broward County, skilled criminal defense attorney Evan Hoffman can assess your legal options. Contact us at (954) 524-4474 or via our online form for a free, confidential consultation.